Devil’s Frost

Posted 27 May 2014 by Kim in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Devil’s FrostDevil's Frost by Heidi R. Kling
Series: The Spellspinners of Melas County #3
Published: 2014-01-21
Publisher: Coliloquy, LLC
Genres: fantasy, romance
Pages: 139
Source: bought
Format: eBook
Buy/Shelve it: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | BookBub | BookHype | Goodreads
Rating: four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars
FTC Disclosure: I may have received this book for free from bought in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.



From the back cover...

[color-box]Every young witch looks forward to her first Solstice Stones. The pride of representing her coven against the warlocks. The rush from her first taste of dark magic.

But a few short minutes into the Stones, and Lily’s lifelong dream turns into a nightmare of pain and regret. Betrayed not once, but twice, her restraint snaps—with dire consequences. 

Lily is wracked with guilt and on the run from the powerful Congression, when her broken confidence is further shattered by an ugly secret from the past. As her options dwindle, Lily is forced into a distasteful alliance.

Will she be able to find her way back to the light? Or will darkness consume her before dawn's new day?[/color-box]

My Review

Although shorter than the others in this series, I think that this one might have been my favorite in a lot of ways.  This book is active fiction, like the others, but is almost two novellas in one.  The first section is Lily’s version of events, with choices for you as the reader to make.  The second section is Logan’s story, with more choices to make.  There is also a third section that is called “Bonus Materials” and it tells Daisy’s story of that fateful night and changes the story entirely so READ THAT, too!

This installment does a lot to answer many of the questions we had during the first two books and sets the stage for more in the ongoing Spellspinner saga.  It  is such a fun series to read.  The active fiction aspect makes it a book that can be reread for a different experience!

Things to love…

  • Logan.  There is so much to this character, so much depth.
  • Lily and Jonah.  They are not necessarily what they seem!
  • Daisy.  I can’t wait for more of  Lily’s spunky little sister!

My Recommendation

Read the first two in the series, and then indulge in this one!


Rating Report
Overall: 4.2

About Heidi R. Kling

Sea, which launched June 10, 2010, is a bittersweet love story set in the aftermath of the devastating 2004 Indonesian tsunami. Heidi’s first novel, Sea was a finalist for “Northern California Book of the Year”, an IndieNext Pick, Goodreads “Mover and Shaker,” a Gateway Reader’s Award Finalist , Scholastic Readers Choice among other generous accolades.

Witch’s Brew: Spellspinners 1launched The Spellspinners of Melas County series January, 2012. A serialized saga of estranged witches and warlocks, set in a modern, but fantastical world and told in an innovative “active fiction” format not unlike the “Choose Your Own Adventure” books we loved as kids. The Gleaning: Spellspinners #2 followed and Devil’s Frost: Spellspinners #3 launches January 21, 2014. Seven more books are planned in this magical series readers compare to LJ Smith, Cassandra Clare and Melissa de la Cruz. Think of The Spellspinners of Melas County as a popular TV series…you read instead of watch.

When not penning novels, Heidi contributes short stories and essays to teen lit anthologies such as Truth & Dare, The First Time, A Visitor’s Guide to Mystic Falls, and Two & Twenty Dark Tales, and feeds her ravenous appetite for unputdownable books, addicting TV dramas and Thin Mints.

After earning her MFA in Writing for Children from the New School in New York City, Heidi returned to her native California where she lives with her husband and two children right over the coastal mountains from the sea.

She hasn’t spotted a warlock in real life. Yet.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

::spread the love::



Leave a Reply