1.22.2021 | Friday


category: Book Reviews

Owlflighttitle: Owlflight
author: Mercedes Lackey
series: Owl Mage Trilogy #1
published: 1 October 1998
publisher: DAW
genre(s): fantasy
pages: 342
source: bought
format: eBook
buy/shelve it: Amazon | B&N | BookBub | Goodreads

rating: five-stars | series rating: five-stars

the blurb

Apprenticed to a venerable wizard when his hunter and trapper parents disappear into the forest never to be seen again, Darian is difficult and strong willed--much to the dismay of his kindly master. But a sudden twist of fate will change his life forever, when the ransacking of his village forces him to flee into the great mystical forest. It is here in the dark forest that he meets his destiny, as the terrifying and mysterious Hawkpeople lead him on the path to maturity. Now they must lead the assault on his besieged home in a desperate attempt to save his people from certain death!

my review

I am obsessed with the entire Valdemar epic saga— all the standalones, duologies, trilogies, etc. Owlflight is the first of one my favorite trilogies within the series.

This book begins the trilogy of Darian, a Valdemarian orphan whose parents disappeared into the mysterious woods that border his tiny, isolated village. The townspeople, having viewed his family as outliers, were disgruntled at finding him in need of care. And Darian knew it, feeling even more lost and alone. Then barbarians swoop into the village, and he only barely managed to escape… into the clan of the mysterious Hawkbrothers. They shelter him, adopt him as one of their own, and help him save his village.

The world-building that Mercedes Lackey is unparalled. She is extraordinary at creating worlds that are completely fantastical yet entirely believable. From the settings to the creatures, she builds worlds that I want to live in.

Many find the storylines a bit slow, but I think that isn’t a negative but a positive when it comes to Lackey’s novels. She creates characters that are fully realized and flawed, with plots that are character-driven, allowing their arcs to develop over the entire trilogy/series.

If you love really good high fantasy, this is a beautiful book to read.

About Mercedes Lackey

Mercedes Lackey is the well known author of the Valdemar books, set in her own world, Velgarth. She has also written in several other universes, including romances for Luna set in the fairy tale ‘five hundred kingdoms’.

reading challenges:

::spread the love::

Leave a Reply