11.15.2023 | Wednesday

How to Marry Keanu Reeves in 90 Days

category: Book Reviews
tag(s):
0 Comments

How to Marry Keanu Reeves in 90 Daystitle: How to Marry Keanu Reeves in 90 Days
author: K.M. Jackson
published: 2 November 2021
publisher: Forever
genre(s): contemporary, romance
pages: 324
source: Book of the Month
format: hardcover
buy/shelve it: Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

rating: two-half-stars

the blurb

USA Today bestselling author K.M. Jackson delivers a hilarious road-trip rom-com perfect for fans of Meet Cute and When Harry Met Sally.

 Bethany Lu Carlisle is devastated when the tabloids report actor Keanu Reeves is about to tie the knot. What?! How could the world's perfect boyfriend and forever bachelor, Keanu not realize that making a move like this could potentially be devastating to the equilibrium of...well...everything! Not to mention, he's never come face to face with the person who could potentially be his true soulmate—her. Desperate to convince Keanu to call off the wedding, Lu and her ride-or-die BFF Truman Erikson take a wild road trip to search for the elusive Keanu so that Lu can fulfill her dream of meeting her forever crush and confess her undying love. From New York to Los Angeles, Lu and True get into all sorts of sticky situations. Will Lu be able to find Keanu and convince him she's the one for him? Or maybe she'll discover true love has been by her side all along...


  • my review
  • a few notes

As soon as I saw the cover, I wanted to read this book. The cover is perfect, and I do love Keanu Reeves. I wanted to love it… but I just didn’t.

While, yes, I knew the plot before beginning the book, I had the idea that the road trip would be more of a self-realization journey than an actual attempt to get the actor to fall in love with her. The idea that a grown woman would truly embark on a trip in search of celebrity who is clueless as to her existence, just because she believes they are meant to be? It seemed ludicrous. But that’s what it was, and instead of being quirky and cute, it just felt cringey. For me, at least, that feeling was made worse by the fact that the celebrity in question is real. I think it would have lessened the cringe factor at least a little if it had been a fictional celebrity. But real person or not, it still felt more than a little creepy. Heavy stalker vibes.

Part of the problem for me was the main character. I just couldn’t relate to her. I continually forgot that she was in her early-to-midforties because she was so immature and often juvenile. The way she acted, the way she behaved, the way she spoke… all of it felt more fitting to a much younger person.

All in all, not for me.

POV: 1st person; dual
keywords/phrases: Keanu Reeves, fan girl, friends-to-lovers
cover notes: cute and eye-catching

About K.M. Jackson

USA Today bestselling author and native New Yorker Kwana Jackson aka K.M Jackson spent her formative years on the A train where she had two dreams: (1) to be a fashion designer and (2) to be a writer. After spending more than ten years designing women’s sportswear for various fashion houses, Kwana took a leap of faith and decided to pursue her other dream of being a writer. A longtime advocate of equality and diversity in romance (#WeNeedDiverseRomance), Kwana is the mother of twins and currently lives in a suburb of New York with her husband. When not writing she can be found on Twitter @kwanawrites, on Facebook at facebook.com/KmJacksonAuthor, and on her website at www.kmjackson.com.

Rating Report
plot
two-half-stars
characters
two-stars
writing
three-stars
pacing
three-stars
Overall: two-half-stars

reading challenges:

  • 2023 Diversify Your Reading Challenge
::spread the love::

Leave a Reply