1.9.2020 | Thursday

Dividing Eden

tags: | categories: Book Reviews
leave a comment


Dividing Edentitle: Dividing Eden
author: Joelle Charbonneau
series: Dividing Eden #1
published: 6 June 2017
publisher: HarperTeen
genre(s): fantasy
pages: 318
source: library
format: hardcover
buy/shelve it: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Goodreads
rating: four-stars
series rating: five-stars


the blurb

From the author of the New York Times bestselling The Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.
Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.
But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.
As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.
With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?


About Joelle Charbonneau

I am a storyteller at heart. I have performed in a variety of operas, musical theatre and children’s theatre productions across the Chicagoland area.

While I’m happy to perform for an audience, I am equally delighted to teach private voice lessons and use my experience from the stage to create compelling characters on the page. I am the author of the Rebecca Robbins mystery series (Minotaur Books), The Paige Marshall Glee Club mysteries (Berkley) and The Testing YA triology (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt).

Rating Report
plot
four-stars
characters
four-stars
writing
four-stars
pacing
four-stars
cover
four-stars
Overall: four-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2020 Alphabet Soup
  • 2020 Alphabet Soup: Author Edition
  • 2020 Currently Reading
  • 2020 Library Love Reading Challenge
  • 2020 Modern Miss Darcy
  • 2020 PopSugar Reading Challenge
  • 2020 Reading Challenge
  • 2020 YA Reading Challenge
::spread the love::
Divider

Leave a Reply